The program is reserved for students currently enrolled for credit through an educational institution and is based out of the district office.

Responsibilities may include:

• Conducting research for possible legislation
• Drafting correspondence and responding to constituent inquiries
• Plan an event that is beneficial to the intern and community
• Attend events around the legislative district

While in the district office, business casual attire is required.

Interns also spend 1 day in Harrisburg shadowing the Representative to experience the law making process first hand. Throughout the day, interns will attend meetings, hearings, and Session. Business professional attire is required for this day. Women should wear dress pants/skirts with a blouse or a dress with a sweater if the straps are less than two inches. Men should wear dress pants with a jacket and a tie.

Students may receive credit from their educational institution for this internship. However, it is the responsibility of the intern to provide all requirements from the institution. All final grades are determined by the education institution and not the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

The hours for this internship are flexible but should be consistent. Occasionally events are held outside of the regularly scheduled hours.

Deadline to submit resume, cover letter, and a recent writing sample is as follows:
• For the spring internship, 1st Friday of December
• For the summer internship, 1st Friday of May
• For the fall internship, 1st Friday of August

Please submit your resume, cover letter, and recent writing sample to Rep. Mackenzie at

Rylee Donaldson – Summer 2021
(House Speaker Bryan Cutler also pictured.)

Matthew LaSalle – Summer 2019

Hanna Lambert – Summer 2019

Josiah Patterson – Summer 2018

Samantha Evangelista – Fall 2018

 Constantine Pavlack – Summer 2017

Sahil Sharma – Summer 2015
(Pictured with staff member Brittney Waylen)

Emily Olearczyk – Summer 2014

Paige Brogan – Fall 2013

Interns not pictured:
Robert Ross – Summer 2015
Robyn Barebo – Summer 2015
Samantha Sweigart – Summer 2016
Alexander Comfort – Summer 2020