Dec. 30, 2021

HARRISBURG – Rep. Ryan Mackenzie (R-Berks/Lehigh) has been appointed by House Majority Leader Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin) to serve as majority chairman of the House Government Oversight Committee.

Mackenzie replaces Rep. Tarah Toohil (R-Luzerne), who left office at the end of December after winning election as a judge on the Luzerne County Court of Common Pleas.

“Rep. Ryan Mackenzie is a hard-working and thoughtful member who has been a leader on fiscal responsibility and government reform – the two main issues this committee focuses on,” Benninghoff said. “I am excited to see the work he will do as chairman of the House Government Oversight Committee.”

“I am honored Leader Benninghoff has entrusted me with guiding this committee and continuing the important work it does on behalf of the citizens of our Commonwealth,” said Mackenzie. “During my time in office, I have focused on protecting taxpayers, creating jobs, strengthening education, and reforming government. This appointment is a reflection of my commitment to these issues.”

The committee is responsible for keeping government spending and government action in check under our legislative responsibility of oversight and management. The nine-member committee, created in 2019, investigates matters referred by the speaker, majority leader, or minority leader. The majority party is tasked with appointing five members to the committee and the minority party appoints the remaining four.

Other members of the committee include Reps. John Hershey (R-Mifflin/Juniata/Franklin), John Lawrence (R-Chester/Lancaster), Rep. Jim Rigby (R-Cambria/Somerset), Todd Stephens (R-Montgomery), Matthew Bradford (D-Montgomery), Jordan Harris (D-Philadelphia), and Dan Miller (D-Allegheny). Bradford serves as the minority chairman.

Committee activities can be followed online at

Representative Ryan Mackenzie
134th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Andy Briggs
717-260-6474 /